APPA U in Orlando: Helping Members Achieve Their Goals

By Corey Newman

he September APPA U wrapped up in Orlando, Florida, showcasing another successful professional development gathering of the Institute for Facilities Management and the Leadership Academy. Colleagues from around the globe were welcomed to learn, network, and collaborate.

> We are grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these offerings such a success. A special note of thanks goes to

Institute Deans Mary Vosevich, Chris Smeds, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; and to our Academy Faculty Glenn Smith, Elizabeth Clark, Shawna Code, Lindsay Wagner, Matt Adams, Viron Lynch, Ana Thiemer, and Chuck Farnsworth.

Throughout the week, students had opportunities to interact with experts who brought their knowledge and experience from vast backgrounds and provided a rich environment for all attendees. Approximately 425 facilities professionals from across the United States, Canada, Mexico, and Lebanon attended. We welcomed 93 first-time attendees, proving that APPA's popularity in the profession continues to grow! As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the class of September 2016 (including 80 new alumni).

A big kudos to all of those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! APPA would like to express its gratitude to Jim Jackson of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for sending 11 of his employees to APPA U. The professional development of any individuals must be as customizable as the individuals themselves, and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, organizational, and institutional goals. Please visit http://www.appa. org/training/trainingcalendar.cfm for more on all of APPA's program offerings. (§)

Corey Newman is APPA's associate director of professional development and can be reached at corey@ appa.org.





ACADEMY GRADUATES

In alphabetical order, not all greaduates are pictured

Tom Abram, San Diego State University

Ada Baldwin, North Carolina State University

J. Thomas Becker, Philadelphia University

Fred Brilante, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Chad Brimley, Brigham Young University

Curt Christiansen, Brigham Young University Hawaii

Wayne Clark, Brigham Young University-Idaho

Gary Collier, The Ohio State University

Andrew Corey, University of New Brunswick/Fredericton

Darius Dixon, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Vanessa Dodd, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Chad Dragan, San Diego State University

Dennis Drymala, University of Maryland Baltimore

Jerry Emerson, University of North Texas Health Science Center

David Featherman, University of Rochester

Solomon Franklin, *University of North Carolina at Charlotte*

 ${\it Tom Gilmore, } \textit{University of New Brunswick/Fredericton}$

Brian Guns, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Bryan Hooks, Duke University

Angie Jackson, Western Kentucky University

Candice Jicha, North Carolina State University

Ronda Latham, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Rick Nelson, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Hoyte Phifer, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Maria Prawirodihardjo, University of Maryland Baltimore

Rick Pretzman, Arizona State University

Lynn Rotoli, University of Pennsylvania

Mike Rowe, East Carolina University

Joe Scollo, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Nathaniel Snodgrass, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Marquis Stephens, Georgia Tech Research Institute

Herbert Stokes, Georgia Tech Research Institute

Paul Taylor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Christopher Vera, Texas A & M University-Kingsville

Weston Woodward, Weber State University

Kevin Wyatt, American University

INSTITUTE GRADUATES

In alphabetical order, not all greaduates are pictured

Tara Adams, Kennesaw State University

Keith Benoit, *University of Vermont*

Nathan Biegenzahn, Louisburg College

Robert Brown, East Carolina University

Brad Burkett, University of Tennessee at Martin

Melissa Burnette, Sewanee: The University of the South

Richard Caldwell. Auburn University

David Clark, Pima Community College

Nicole Corll, Kent State University Main Campus

Robin DeRoo, University of Saskatchewan

John Duncan, Pennsylvania State University

Ken Dunson, Dallas County Community College District Office

Dean Dykstra, University of Iowa

Susan Fry, University of Pennsylvania

Gordon Green, Texas State University

Elaine Groenendyk, University of Regina

Shanna Harwell, North Carolina State University

Richard Hassard, North Carolina State University

Mark Hauser, University of South Florida

Michael Jackson, Pennsylvania State University

Kelli Kemery, Plymouth State University

Bill Kennedy, US Olympic Committee/Facility Management

Chris King-Dye, Michigan State University

Cathy Koebrick, University of Iowa

Jeffrey Kruger, Santa Fe College

Travis Lafon, Oregon State University

Ivory Lucas, Florida State University

Mark Manzutto, University of New Mexico

Hal Melfi, Pima Community College

Jeffery Mori, Kent State University Main Campus

David Ortega, Alamo Colleges

Tracy Osby, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mark Parkvold, Portland Community College

Scott Parsons, Purdue University Northwest

James Rader, Stephen F. Austin State University

Kelvin Rosier, Florida A&M University

Peter Scarpati, University of Pennsylvania-Philadelphia

Eric Siegel, University of Cincinnati Main Campus

Lorraine Silva, New Mexico State University

Jill Stewart, University of Texas at Austin

Eugene Vladoiu, Nova Southeastern University

Chad Weber, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Andrew Wheeler, University of Colorado Boulder

Dana Williams, University of Texas at Austin